A No ‘Poo Journey: 2 Week Update

Natural Beauty, No 'Poo / Lo 'Poo, Simplicity

Have you heard about the no’ poo movement? This is where you give up chemically-filled shampoos, conditioners, and hair products and do a natural approach.

Creams, potions, products, brushes, dyes, elements; it all takes it’s toll on our hair after a while. Forever I have said that I wish I could just scrunch my hair and go instead of spending at least an hour getting primped in the mornings. It was cute when I was young to spend this kind of time, but now that I’ve done it for so long, it’s just played out.

7 hours. Seven hours a week I have spent on my hair and makeup. That’s a full day’s work or an entire night’s sleep I have missed out on trying to get my crispy-fried, damaged, flat, wavy hair straight, full-bodied and presentable. The tragic truth is that it still doesn’t work. I am unsatisfied with the result and have damaged my hair so badly that it probably needs to be shaved bald and start over.

Since nothing has worked, no ‘poo sounds like it is worth a try to bring out my natural, healthy hair.

Why no’ poo?

  • Less time wasted in the mornings
  • Simple, easy and carefree
  • No harsh chemicals ruining my hair
  • Super cheap
  • Natural, easy, no fuss

These are things I want so badly in my hair routine.

For the last 2.5 weeks I have switched from traditional shampoo & conditioner to water only, honey ‘poo {diluted raw honey} , and Burt’s Bees products. I’ve given up the hair dryer, curling iron, and straightener (except once!).

But my hair is so oily and nasty, I HAVE TO shampoo every day, you say.

I was saying that too. What I have already discovered is that’s simply not true. Take it from me. I was a twice a day shampooer, blow drier, straighter, hair teaser, product gunker as well.

Traditional shampoos strip the hair of natural oils leaving it dry and brittle. Conditioner and hair treatments are used to put moisture back into the hair. The scalp then over produces oils to compensate.

Take all that away and it’s not necessary once you let your body do it’s job.

Less truly is more!

There is a gruesome transition period:

Pretty much everyone will go through a transition period when switching to natural products or no poo. We have tricked our scalps and depleted it so badly. It takes a little creativity to make it through the transition period, but the results are amazing.

My hair has it’s own personality and has done some crazy things during the transition. It’s been oily, crazy, full-bodied, limp, dry, hydrated: you name it. I’ve been embarrassed, self conscious, and free all at the same time.

But, it’s starting to actually work.

1

2I’ve been documenting the transition above. There are so many different ways to no/lo poo. I have not gotten an exact routine yet but am trying some things out.

My routine so far:

  • Rinse hair with water only every day
  • Air dry
  • Sleep with it up in a loose bun
  • Wash hair with Burt’s Bee’s Shampoo once or twice a week with a raw honey rinse
  • Brush hair with a boar bristle brush before washing {didn’t use it at first, but am obsessed now! This literally saved my dry, frizzy issue}
  • Embrace my natural hair

It feel so good to let go of the mask I’ve been wearing with my hair. I can finally just let it be and go about my business without fear of what others think. It’s not easy, but I am determined to continue. The results are so awesome.

Is your current hair routine just not working like you want?

Do you have dry, brittle, flat hair? Have you tried everything imaginable? Are you tired of spending so much time, money, and effort worrying about your hair?

That’s where I was and the reason I am switching to natural.

Want to try it?

Just DO IT! Take the first step. It’s not as scary as it sounds. Plus, your hair might just surprise you like it has me!

There are tons of recipes online that you can find and a bazillion different ways to do this. Don’t get discouraged if something doesn’t work the first time. This is a process and everyone’s hair is different. You will find your way, I promise.

More updates to follow on my journey to natural hair. I’m so excited about this process. I just can’t imagine ever going back now!

2 thoughts on “A No ‘Poo Journey: 2 Week Update

Leave a Reply

