How to Pack Light for Less Stressful Travels

Free Spirit, Gentle Change, Hippy Life, Letting Go, Minimalism, Simplicity

unnamed

Sometimes traveling and packing can seem overwhelming. There is washing clothes, cleaning house, buying products to take, making sure everyone in the fam has what they need, considering the weather and an outfit to match each and every possible scenario. Just thinking about it is enough to cause a stress-out.

Over time, I have tried to minimize the way I pack for getaways and I have recently came up with a philosophy that works perfectly when I have a hard time deciding what to do.

It’s the Half Philosophy.

Whether it be laundry, packing, grocery shopping, my closet, what I purchase, or what I think about…I just cut it back to half to bring in some equilibrium and free up some space.

Why packing light invites peace and freedom during travels:

  • Less to lug around
  • Freedom to spend time at the destination instead of worrying about stuff
  • Fewer thoughts put into wardrobe choices
  • Less stuff to unpack and wash when returning home

All four of those bullets is enough for me to pack lighter. I have learned plenty of stressful lessons in the past. Traveling becomes less daunting when you realize you don’t need as much to bring with you while away.

How to apply the half philosophy and pack less:

  • Pack as you normally would starting out (if you are a first-timer). You will learn to pack less and less each trip in the future if you apply this as the norm
  • Let it sit in your suitcase and extra bags for a day or even a few hours
  • Come back to it with a fresh eye before your leave
  • Analyze your items: think about the weather, where you are planning on going, which events are a must
  • Unpack half, leaving only the necessities

My recent pack in photos:

unnamedI started out thoughtfully believing that I had packed just what I needed. It wasn’t overbearing and was fairly light to begin with. I let it sit for a day.

When I came back to it and began moving my stuff around I realized that it was entirely too much for the lax weekend getaway that I would be traveling.

I unpacked half leaving a few causal, comfy outfits and only one extra pair of shoes (besides the ones I would be wearing). Everything was versatile, mix and match, and comfy.

Then, I switched over to a smaller duffle shoulder bag, rolled up my outfits, and was ready to go!

But, did you have enough while you were away?

Yes. I had plenty. I was comfy, cute, and went about my business as usual. I even had an outfit that I didn’t even wear and swimsuit that didn’t get used.

When I returned home, I dumped my dirty clothes directly into the washing machine, barely taking up a load and put away my clean clothes.

I was unpacked and had laundry clean within an hour of returning home.

When we analyze our necessities, take what we need an discard the rest, we can enjoy our time in the present without stressing over all our ‘stuff’ and ‘work’ required in taking care of our stuff.

2 thoughts on “How to Pack Light for Less Stressful Travels

  1. Love that ! I am packing for a 2 weeks trip abroad this week end. My last trip was another attempt at minimalism and it failed. This trip I have to pack super light for the first half as I am supposed to bring back some stuff for my family : a great opportunity to practice and I am definitely going to use your advices ! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! Minimal traveling is SO much easier. My last weekend getaway I thought I was packing super light (which I was compared to my old ways) and STILL didn’t need everything I brought. Next time, I’m gonna try LESS too 🙂 You got this!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

