Meditation: How to Begin

Clarity, Essential Oils, Free Spirit, Gentle Change, Hippy Life, Letting Go, Meditation, Minimalism, Simplicity

unnamed (1)

This is one of my favorite meditation spots.

Meditation has done wonders for me over the last few months. More than exercise, therapists, or medication ever thought about.

It’s powerful because you take back control of your thoughts. It helps bring you back to center and allows you to explore your authentic self.

Life has a way of becoming hectic, wild, chaotic, busy…if we let it.

If you are at your wit’s end and don’t know what else to do, like I was not too long ago, it’s time to try something else.

How to meditate:

This is something that you will discover for yourself because there are tons of different ways people do it. It’s not just for Yogi’s or Buddhists. It’s also for you.

Just like everything else, it takes practice and patience. It also takes mindfulness and the willingness to try something new.

Here is how I started out:

  • 2 minutes: I made it a priority to sit with myself for a minimum of 2 minutes every day. Normally this was in the bathtub where I could relax after kids were in bed.
  • After some time, I then became mindful of meditation: driving down the road, sitting on the porch, drinking coffee, cooking, cleaning, etc.
  • I welcomed my thoughts. Let’s be real, they don’t stop. Our minds go and go and are constantly chattering. I simply observed and then watched them float away like a balloon.

I try to meditate every, single day. I don’t put a time limit on it, I just do it. I make a point to be mindful, to be quite, and to look within.

You don’t need a fancy room or pillow to meditate.

It’s just a simple exercise that you can do to quieten your thoughts and gain clarity.

My recommendations:

  • Quiet room: bathtub, bedroom, on the road; anywhere with little distraction
  • Peaceful music: nature sounds, slow tunes with no words
  • Start with deep breathing. Take your time and take long, deep breaths. Focus on the in and out
  • Watch your thoughts. They will be there, but after a little time and with a little breathing they will become less and less
  • Essential oil: Sometimes I like to add a little ambiance to the experience. Frankincense brings a little woodsy aromatherapy and helps me focus
  • Let go of guilt. Don’t feel guilty about giving yourself a few minutes throughout the day to ease anxiety and get to know yourself again
  • Stay with it. You may feel tempted to procrastinate feeling like you are ‘wasting time’ just sitting and breathing. When I first started out my thoughts were all the same: “I really should be doing the dishes” “I’m missing my favorite show” “I have to fold laundry” “Hmm. I’d really like to re-decorate this room” Sit with these thoughts and let them go. They will pass and you can remain calm and realize that these thoughts are not urgent. They will come back later, I promise.

After meditating, you will be able to attack your tasks, family, and self with a calmer attitude. You will learn what is most important to you. You will be able to let go of anxiety. You will regain control of your thought patterns.

Isn’t it time to take back control of our thoughts and life so we can live in a meaningful way?

How can we know which path to take among all the mental chatter, busyness, and chaos?

Meditation will help settle this so we can move in the right direction and live from our heart.

2 thoughts on “Meditation: How to Begin

Leave a Reply

