Why I’m Eating Hemp Hearts

Hippy Life, Minimalism, Natural Beauty, Simplicity, Sugar-Free Recipes

41OJnCe1kBL._SY300_

Diet, nutrition, and food is always a hot topic. Don’t we all want to be healthy, reduce our grocery bill, and lose guilt associated with over-indulgence?

One of my focuses on my minimalist journey is to do just that:

  • Feel Better
  • Lose Weight
  • Reduce Waste
  • Simplify Cooking
  • Spend Less on Food

I’m heading in the right direction by changing a few of my daily eating and exercise habit. Mainly, I have made it a priority.

My lunch, especially, has been simplified. I eat the same thing every, single day. Eating out is no longer an option. This reduces the temptation to eat fast food and spend excess money. It has also been the number one factor in my weight loss.

I have stumbled across my new fav addition for lunch/snack that I wanted to tell you about.

It’s Hemp Hearts and it’s a superfood.

A hemp heart is the edible inside of a hemp seed and has numerous nutritional benefits:

  • A complete protein
  • Contain the essential fatty acids omega 6 and omega 3
  • Good source of both soluble and insoluble fiber
  • Packed with vitamins and minerals, including vitamins A, B1, B2, D and E
  • High in minerals, calcium, and iron
  • Has 25 percent protein, 35 percent fatty acids and 27 percent carbohydrates (primarily fiber)
  • Include more protein and omegas and less carbs than the same serving of chia or flax

That’s just the nutritional side, but my favorite:

They have been shown to increase levels of energy without other stimulants like caffeine and sugar. They are a healthy addition to a weight loss plan since they provide essential nutrients such as protein, essential fatty acids, fiber, vitamins and minerals without adding an excess of calories, starches and sugars. The weight lost with the assistance of hemp hearts is unlikely to be regained, because it is a daily dietary adjustment rather than a temporary fix.

And how cool is this:

The balance of essential fatty acids paired with the complete protein found in hemp hearts promotes cellular recovery and development. Hemp’s unique fatty acid composition and balance can have significant impact on inflammatory processes and cell membrane activities, which are the foundation of numerous chronic diseases, including cardiovascular diseases, cancers, neurodegenerative disorders, hypersensitivities and auto-immune conditions.

And directly relating to my proneness to bacterial infections:

The high concentration of essential fatty acids found in hemp seeds also supports the transportation of oxygen to cells throughout the body. The presence of oxygen in cell membranes helps to block viruses, fungi and bacteria.

Some other noted info:

  • Minimum of 4 tablespoons recommended per day: eating them straight from the bag or as a topper for salads, cereal or yogurt. Add into smoothies and other recipes for an added punch
  • Eat them raw, they lose nutritional value once cooked
  • They are not marijuana because it doesn’t contain high levels of THC

I found a pack at my local TJMAXX. They have odd food items that I can’t find in stores and I’m always on the search for new low carb items to try. Once I cam across this bag of Manitoba Harvest Hemp Hearts {raw shelled hemp seeds} I knew it was worth a taste.

They are delicious. Very earthy tasting, satisfying, and natural. I eat them straight out of the bag at work and it makes me full enough not to indulge in unhealthy foods. They remind me of sunflower seeds with less salt and a finer texture. I will continue eating these on a daily basis, although I will have to order online because I’ve never found them in regular grocery food chains (however, they are at Whole Foods but it’s just not convenient for me to go). That’s fine, because I love them and have lost 2lbs since eating them a few days ago!

Woot.

If you are looking for something new, you may want to try. I must also add that I in no way, shape or form am pro-marijuana/drug use.

4 thoughts on “Why I’m Eating Hemp Hearts

  1. I love going to the back of TJMaxx and Marshall’s to check out all the weird, random food stuff, haha! My dad likes random stuff like that so I always go there for his gifts, especially saltwater taffy 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

