The Journey Is Worth It

Clarity, Free Spirit, Gentle Change, Hippy Life, Minimalism, Natural Beauty, No 'Poo / Lo 'Poo, Simplicity

unnamed

You know the drill. We buy a bazillion dollars worth of hair and make-up products all our lives and then wonder why our skin looks horrible, and our hair is thinning, bland, and falling out. It’s no secret that the products we buy are damaging, but we do it anyway because we think it’s no big deal.

Well, I had a turning point with my hair. A huge chunk broke off last month and I know I had to make a change in the products I was using. My face was broke out, red, and splotchy from all the creams and scrubs and medicines I was applying. To top it off- I was using Mr. Clean All Purpose Cleaner to clean house and it totally rusted my appliances and discolored my counter tops. If an ‘all purpose cleaner’ isn’t all purpose, then….I’m going green, baby.

This change is taking a while as I research and test products to arrive at a place where I love the items I buy and they actually work. It’s a process. If you have experienced the same type things I have and are looking for an alternative, experimenting and using less may be the answer.

It has been for me.

I am not an expert by any stretch. But, I have learned some things and I want to share.

  • No Poo/ Low Poo: I went no poo for a while, but have changed my process. I now only use natural shampoo, conditioner, and products. Unfortunately, I blow dry and flat iron my hair again. My wiley curls just wasn’t working out. Maybe one day I can be just as hardcore. However, I did learn that I will survive if I don’t wash my hair ever single day, and if my hair is curly and wild – so be it.
  • Natural Soap & Body Wash: I use Zum Bar soap and Burt’s Bees body wash. My skin is hydrated, dry-patch, and red bump free after a month! I thought there was no cure for my skin conditions (per dermatologists as well), but that’s just not the case. Apparently, regular chemical-filled soaps, body washes, and scrubs were destroying my skin.
  • Caveman Regimine Skincare: This is a miracle. I only wash my face with water and a baby soft wash cloth. No soap or creams or moisturizer touches it! I’ve been doing this for a while now and my blackheads are disappearing and not coming back, my red cheeks have nearly went away, and my skin glows.
  • Natural Makeup: This is still a work in progress, but currently I use Physicians Formula Organic CC Cream, and shimmer bronzer (or cinnamon) on my face. I’m phasing out my eye makeup and when it’s time to replenish it will be organic. I also use grapeseed oil on a cotton ball to remove my eye makeup.
  • No Sugar Diet: In a perfect world I would eat Paleo. That is my future wish, not my reality. However, I do not eat sugar – or when I do, it is minimal and natural occurring (like watermelon occasionally). This means lots of meats and veggies. Also hemp hearts and peanuts, almond milk, and coconut flour to name a few snacks and additions. Without a lot of carbs and eating foods of high protein, I am fully satisfied, full of energy, and get better sleep. It works for me.
  • Live With Less: I quit shopping to waste time. I evaluate every purchase and make sure it will be used and is in line with my core beliefs. I am paying of debt, so spending wildly is not an option.
  • Clearing Clutter: Getting rid of clutter and unused items in my home to make space for things that matter and brings me peace of mind.

I like to remind myself of the changes I am making and the progress I’ve made so far. Sometimes it seems like there is so much I need to change that it’s overwhelming. I didn’t make all these changes in one day. It has been phased over time and have allowed myself plenty of space to make mistakes, start again, and to experiment. I am having fun and enjoying the ride.

Are there things you want to get rid of to make space for more of what you want? What’s your motivation and how are you getting back to your authentic self?

2 thoughts on “The Journey Is Worth It

  1. I relate to the no-poo part of your journey. I used to wash my hair every single day… now I spend long prod of time just brushing them and not washing. I also started using organic raw coconut oil on them. So I go no poo for a while then massage coconut oil in the hair and leave it on for a week roughly then was them with an organic conditioner and sometimes Dr Bronner’s organic soap. After washing I let them dry naturally and just had a little bit of organic serum. They are light, shiny and healthy, the best they have ever been in a long long time. I stopped wearing any make -up for roughly two years. I was reacting to any products… :-(.
    I went back to organic make up this year, aiming for vegan brands as much as possible and I was happy to be able to wear it without having allergies. I mainly wear it while on holidays though, I don’t have time in my daily schedule to put some on before work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was really loving the no poo journey and then fell off the wagon: but now am ONLY using organic shampoos. I still go a day or so without washing every once in a while. I don’t fret over it like I used to. Now, my hair still looks SO MUCH better with organic vs. regular shampoos. No wonder my hair was breaking off in chunks! I wear only organic makeup too, and not a lot of it anymore. Also, I don’t use any cleansing products. My face is clearer now than it has been in my whole entire life!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

