Tending to Your Soul

Clarity, Free Spirit, Gentle Change, Hippie Life, Hippy Life, Letting Go, Meditation, Minimalism, Simplicity

Yoga isn’t about executing the poses perfectly or having the best balance. Yoga is connecting with yourself. Yoga is like learning to breathe again, or that moment when you jump out of bed in the morning, rush outside to do the sun salutation, and you’re utterly blinded by how brilliant the world can be. Yoga is taking a moment from your stressful, up-beat life and remembering you have a soul that needs tending to. ~ Unknown

The world truly can be beautiful and brilliant when we take the time to slow down and enjoy it. This has always been so hard for me: just as it is for so many people.

I feel that it is selfish and un-productive if I stop to breathe and do a few stretches.

Since I have began my yoga journey, I see how important it is to take the time to look within yourself. Yoga is not about being a pretzel, it’s about being deliberate. Being deliberate in loving on yourself every day. It’s about letting go of house chores realizing that it’s OK to take a break, get healthy, and press on within. When sticking through yoga, the to-do list shows up in the mind, but you learn to see it, and let it go. You begin to understand that the dishes will still be in the sink when you get done. They will. And it is perfectly fine.

It’s a daily practice of peace.

Whether you do yoga or not, it’s important you find something that allows you to be still, get healthy, and focus on yourself. It could be a walk, a bubble bath, a jog down a trail, gardening, drawing, watching the sunset. If it means you check in with yourself for at least 20 minutes or so to allow your self-worth to come forward: then you have found it! When you find it, do that and do it every day.

5 thoughts on “Tending to Your Soul

  1. I recently started doing yoga again. I wasn’t feeling well and after a couple of trips to the Dr. and some labs she told me she thought I was just very stressed. So, I switched my high intensity workouts for yoga. It was really hard to be patient at first and connect my body and my mind. The first few times I kept thinking how much longer and what’s next. Now I fully commit to making that time for myself and slowing down. It really is wonderful 🙂

    Like

    1. That’s so wonderful, Kelly! I’ve always done high intensity workouts as well and then realized I was so tired and exhausted after so long that I just couldn’t do it any longer. Yoga gives me the health benefit of strength, toning, and relaxation. I’m in love 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I want to start yoga because of all the benefits I’ve heard about it. I’m just afraid my to-do list will never go away and I’ll feel like I can’t accomplish what one is supposed to :(. Maybe I will try it. I could really use some peace of mind and a chance to view/feel things, the way you described here… ❤

    Like

    1. I know that feeling all too well. I keep reminding myself that I just can’t do it ALL and that some things just aren’t important as others. I’m finally to the point where exercise and health is at the top of my list. That makes it easier for me to choose yoga (or exercise) than another task. When you are ready, def try it! I think you will really, REALLY enjoy it especially if you have some interest already in it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

