My Schedule: Why I Crave a Simpler Life

Minimalism, Simplicity

I spoke about my current stress level yesterday. It’s turned into a health problem. There are a lot of emotional issues I need resolved and a lot of dreams I want to do. One of the themes that is pretty much across the board for people who are searching for a simple life is that we all want to create more time to do the things we love. My daily schedule is spread too thin with all my responsibilities so I am working hard on making the space I need to enjoy life again.

I know so many of us are busy and some are busyer than others. My current daily grind is too much for me. It goes like this:

5:45 – Wake up, take shower get ready for work.

6:45 – Wake husband and baby and get baby ready to go.

7:00 – Drive and drop baby off for the day.

7:15-8:00 – Commute to work

See, right here. I’m exhausted and haven’t even got to my job yet.

8:00 – 4:30 – Full-time job.

4:30 – 6:00 – Pick up baby and get home.

6:00-7:00 – Cook dinner and feed baby.

7:30-8:30 – Clean up kitchen.

8:30 – 9:00 – Bathe baby.

9:00 – 9:30 – Play with baby and have a few mins of family bonding time.

9:30-10:00 – Put baby to bed.

10:00-10:15 – Sit down for the first time all day and take a breath.

10:15 – 11:00 – Yoga to relive stress and work on health.

11:00-11:20 – Take quick shower and get ready for bed.

11:20 – 12am – Wind down, bond with husband and try to go to sleep.

Repeat.

That’s a long day y’all and doesn’t leave enough time for me to dream, think, rest, enjoy. Because, for me to get into bed before midnight is near impossible. During my day I am wide open leaving no time for creativity or hobbies.

Have you thought about what all you cram into your day? It probably looks like me and could be a whole lot worse. If you feel overwhelmed and stressed like I do, it may be time to make a change.

My changes are gong to take some time before my schedule will be where it needs to, but I’m not giving up.

What does your day look like? What do you need more of? Isn’t it time we took some action?

9 thoughts on “My Schedule: Why I Crave a Simpler Life

  1. What is hubby doing between the hours of 4:30pm and 12am? Sounds like you could use a little help? Even though we mothers are working full time jobs we’re still trying to do everything as if we were stay at homes….time to spread the workload more evenly

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You got that right! I def need some more help around the house from everyone. Clutter and mess bothers me, but not the rest. Struggle is real. However, the sound of pre-cooked rotissere sounds like a good idea as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww… and wow. Yes, just reading this exhausted me too… ♡

    I know we each have our own strengths and roles but maybe a couple times a week at first, your hubby could do some of the chores you do from about 6:00 to 9:00 (?).

    It would be nice to know that it’s a “hey its Thursday so my guy is cooking and cleaning up tonight!” night. ♡ (and ‘cooking’ could just entail tossing a frozen casserole inti the oven. Simple. Easy. And extremely helpful, while you get an extra 30 minutes here and there to wind down from the day ♡).

    Anyway, I loved this post. It definitely made me think of a couple areas I could tweak my schedule too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are too sweet! I am noticing that my decluttering efforts is really helping me on the ‘homefront.’ But I’d still like to whittle my schedule down for a little more downtime for sure!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow, your days are hectic !!! Mine are pretty busy and sometimes I just keep working and rushing around all day and I too end exhausted and burnt out real quick. Sometimes I have to remind myself that not all the things I am doing are that important and that my well being is worthy more… Good luck for your changes and I took agree about having your partner stepping up to help you. Lots of hugs to you !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

