Let Go of Who You are Not

De-Cluttering, Letting Go, Minimalism, Simplicity

unnamed

Sometimes when we dig through our stuff, whether it’s physical, mental, or emotional – we find out a lot about our true selves.

I came to a major revelation when doing another de-cluttering haul this weekend:

I have a LOT of stuff that I’ve bought in hopes to be a person I’d like to be; not the person I actually am.

For instance: the necklaces pictured above. I think they are adorbs on some people. I thought that I would love them on me too. A great way to accessorize and mix up an outfit. The truth is though, I hate necklaces and I always have. They make me hot and sticky and they just bug during the day. But, I bought them anyways knowing that I hate necklaces.

So, they have been hanging on display in my bedroom never worn. Not even once because I lothe them but secretly hope that one day I will love them.

Well…nope. I don’t. I’m not going to wear them because I just don’t want to.

Now they have been donated and I don’t have to look at them every day wondering when I will actually wear them and dress like someone I am not.

There are a lot of things I have purchased and held on to for that reason. Also, there are a lot of crafty things I have in ‘hopes’ that I will be a Pinterest Queen. But, I’ve tried that and it didn’t work out, so…

Another carload went to the donation center this weekend. My home is finally…FINALLY becoming a little more manageable. There may just be light at the end of the tunnel afterall.

Next thing to leave my house…

My sewing machine.

Because I hate sewing.

I want to live to my true self. I want to have the things around me that I actually like to do. And if I try something and don’t like it – I will let it go too.

Currently, I need space, cleanliness, an uncluttered view in my home. And a huge space smack dab in the center of my living room to do my yoga and roll around with my daughter.

THAT IS WHO I AM. THAT IS WHAT I WANT TO DO.

4 thoughts on “Let Go of Who You are Not

  1. I’m reading a book called the Magical Art of Tidying right not, and this so reminds me of it. It’s a great book if you’re trying to de-clutter! I’m loving it so far. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m on hold to get that book from my library 🙂 I definitely relate to everything you said, I never really wear a lot of jewelry and yet I had a huge jewelry box full…it didn’t make any sense. I also got rid of my sewing machine because the thing hated me and I could never get it to work properly haha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, man Candice — the sewing machine hates me too. And the feeling is mutual 🙂 I’m just ready for my stuff and my life to make sense and not portray my past self or a self that I ‘wish I was.’ It’s weird. lol!

      Like

Leave a Reply

