3 Reasons Why I am De-Cluttering

De-Cluttering, Minimalism, Minimalist

To untether ourselves from our stuff, we must really get to the beef on why we are so attached in the first place.

When I first started de-cluttering my home, I didn’t know the answer, I only knew that I wanted it gone so I that I could breathe again.

But, as I go along my focus gets clearer and clearer.

The main reason I have so many things that I am attached to is:

I don’t want to let go of who I was in the past.

It was my childhood, it was all my good memories, it was fun fads and trends I took part of. It all brings warm fuzzies to my memory. But there are also a lot more things that I’m holding on “just in case” or if “I change my mind about something.”

In reality: I do want to let go of who I was in the past. I am not that person. I’ll never be that person again and that could actually be a good thing. I’m in a new decade and have been through a lot that allows me to see this world through different eyes.

It’s OK to let go. It’s OK for me to change. I want something new.

Since I have reached that point in my psyche and heart I can let go with grace and ease. I’m looking ahead and moving with myself, not against it.

There are three main reasons I am de-cluttering my stuff and they are all very, VERY, important to me.

1. Less to clean. Do I even need to elaborate? See why here.

2. Room for growth. I don’t like seeing unfinished projects and hopes that I had on a whim from my past. Be it craft supplies, exercise equipment, and duplicates. The things that used to interest me 10 years ago do not apply now. I have other hobbies and hopes. The one’s I have now is what stays.

3. Focus. My clutter (physical and emotional) is holding me back bigtime. I have things that I want to do and accomplish that I can’t because of the clutter. I’m not hanging on anymore, I am moving forwards.

My life is beginning to align with my true self. That’s the girl I am, and that’s the girl I will honor.

4 thoughts on “3 Reasons Why I am De-Cluttering

  1. Have you read Marie Kondo’s book ‘The Life-changing Magic of Tidying Up’? The reason I mention it is because I had similar thoughts/internal tug-of-wars ❤ :)… It really helped me view my things differently (and NOT in a you-must-throw-everything-away-or-you-are-bad) LOL <3.

    It really helped me make peace with what I decided to keep, what I decided to let go of, and why it is about what feels right to me (not anyone else's "rules of minimalism"…

    Anyway, I'm so happy for you that your life is beginning to align with your true self. It is an amazing feeling… 🙂 Have a wonderful day!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

