Goodbye, Bookshelf & a Tribute

De-Cluttering, Gentle Change, Letting Go, Minimalism, Minimalist

Goodbye, bookshelf. You have been a good one. I have moved you to three different homes. I have placed you in just about ever nook imaginable. I made you a closet. I filled you with baskets. You held my dusty trinkets so eloquently.

The thought of ever having to move you again really makes my head hurt. I’ve come to realize that it is time for us to break up.

I finally admit that I simply thought that I had to put stuff on you since you were there. But, in truth you were only housing unused items, and baskets holding unused items, and it never felt right to me.

So, let’s part shall we?

unnamed

As I was de-cluttering I realized that there was absolutely no reason to even have this bookshelf. Not even one thing made the cut from the shelf that I actually use…ever.

After about a week of sitting in the tiny hallway empty, it was time to say goodbye.

unnamed (1)

We parted ways.

And I’m not sad about it.

Without further ado, one last tribute to the shelf that housed so many unused things for sake of having a bookshelf for no real reason.

Here’s a final look into the shelf’s past:

1015131817a

You were a good closet — even though I already had a closet.

20110418184352

You held books that I already read, and would never read again, along with other decor that I never really liked to begin with.

IMAG0511

The buckled and bent shelves from so much stuff made you squeal, but I still piled it on.

Then you became a danger with kids in the house. I was always terrified you would fall over. Thankfully you never did.

But now, you are gone. There is no need to house unused stuff.

You can go be free, and so can I.

With extra space for me.

I can let go an move on.

You will not be coming with me in the future.

We are done.

Goodbye.

One thought on “Goodbye, Bookshelf & a Tribute

Leave a Reply

