One Item Favorite: Living Room Wall Art

De-Cluttering, Gentle Change, Letting Go, Minimalism, Simplicity

unnamed (1)

I seriously donated numerous SUV car loads of wall art to the donation center a few weeks ago. Yes, car loads of wall art.

My de-cluttering process has been a complicated one over the last few years. I would de-clutter, and within weeks be right back where I started. This time is different because I am very deliberate and intentional.

Several years ago, I got into thrift shopping and refurbing my home decor. It interested me and I had the time to piddle with it. I would bring home carloads of frames, pictures, knick knacks and then refurb. For some reason, even if the decor didn’t work for a space; I felt obligated to use it.

I can’t really explain why, I just did. Now, I don’t think that way. I will only use what I love and that is all. The rest is just clutter, unfinished projects, and the notion that we must use every, single thing we have ever brought home in our home, somewhere.

The old me felt that way. The new me, not so much.

After many carloads of taking down all the wall art invisible obligations, I kept my favorites.

The photo above shows the one piece of art that I am in love with. It doesn’t need partners surrounding it to distract, or other pieces I feel obligated to hang up for no real reason. Those old items are no longer welcome in my home. They are gone.

What’s left is a statement piece and that is all.

So, one last tribute to my obligated, wall art attempts in the past. As you can see, it never felt right to me. I kept changing it trying to make it ‘work.’ But it never did because I didn’t love it.

Now, my single artwork makes me happy and the only obligation I have now is to enjoy its beauty all by itself.

Here’s the wall art pastlife. So happy to not have to obsess over it anymore:

0716141114

Obligatory family photos. I never loved the frames. What I do love is squishing and kissing on my baby girls real face.

0925141623

Obligatory chalkboard frames when I went overboard putting chalk on everything thanks to Pinterest. And the ‘must’ initial that has to be displayed in a home, thanks to Pinterest. Oh, and that’s my favorite snack: melted-cheese-on-a-plate as I call it.

C360_2014-11-08-11-48-54-883

And again, repainting, trying to find inspiration in quotes, and yet again: more basket storage.

See, I realize now that I have been a stuff manager. Constantly moving my stuff around all the while collecting. There is absolutely nothing wrong with loving home design, but for me personally, I’m tired of trying to be like everyone else. I want to spend time doing things I love in a clean, uncluttered home.

That’s where I am today. So my favorite piece of art, thank you. Thank you for sitting so simply alone on my wall. You work perfectly now and I can be free from my imaginary obligatory clutter presentations.

I can now sit on my couch and relax.

One thought on “One Item Favorite: Living Room Wall Art

  1. So love the art piece ( I initially wrote heart piece, hiiiiii ) ! It is beautiful ! You’ve got a great sense for this, surely the clutter was not letting your real talent shine through…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

