What a Minimalists Makeup Routine May Look Like

De-Cluttering, Gentle Change, Letting Go, Minimalism, Natural Beauty

unnamed

We all have to define our simplifying journey for ourselves. Each of us are different. We have different passions, motives, and reasons. For me, I am simplifying many aspects of my life to create clarity and joy. My clutter, spending habits, and schedule are taking away the most valuable thing in my life:

Time to do what I love doing.

This lifestyle that I created is stealing away what I want most. It’s finally taking it’s toll on my health. I’m suffering from true, shameless burnout. My stress is the worst it’s ever been. My emotional and mental health is a struggle.

My de-cluttering efforts are paying off and I am finally thinking more clearly. It hasn’t happened over night. As a matter of fact, it’s taken me months of fierce, ruthless, savage change. It’s primal, and it’s serious.

There are small things I do that seem likeΒ no big deal. But when it’s all compiled into one day – it is a huge deal over time.

I’ve changed a bunch of things, and one of my favorite changes is my beauty routine.

A few things that have helped ease my dependency on commercial products are:

1. Caveman Regimine: I only wash my face with a baby rag and water. Facial washes were stripping my face of natural essentials leaving me clogged, rashy, reddened, and dry. Now my face does it’s on thing. My face thanks me, has cleared up, and I’m not wasting money on chemical filled products.

2. Natural Body Soap: For the same reason as my facial cleansing routine. My body was patchy, bumpy, and dry from body washes and chemical soaps. Now I use all natural goat milk soap. My skin has cleared and is moisturized naturally.

3. Makeup: If I could have all the money spent on makeup I would be sitting pretty. Perhaps I believed what the commercials told me about makeup making me more beautiful? Maybe I just bought new products because I felt like I deserved it? Regardless, it’s expensive and wastes good space and time. I got rid of all the products that I rarely used and now I keep the essentials.

1. Bronzer

2. Bronzer Brush

3. Mascara

4. Eyeliner: I only wear on special occasions, not everyday anymore.

My makeup routine is a drastic change from the past. I got rid of concealers, fake lashes, colored eye shadows, eyeliner shades, foundation and an eyelash curler.

I realize now that the bronzer highlights just enough and mascara opens my eyes and it’s all I really need for every day wear. No one else has commented on my makeup change. It takes me 1 minute to do my makeup now.

It’s easy, cheap, and I feel ‘done’ enough for work and still feel good about myself.

When I run out of my current stash, I am going to replace with more natural ingredients. I feel this will help further reduce redness and dryness with a little time.

It works. The more time I have in the morning to watch the sunrise and meditate, or do a little yoga before work, the better. I can do that instead of using my face as a canvas. Simplifying my beauty routine has changed my mornings. Less stress, and more time to ease into my day.

8 thoughts on “What a Minimalists Makeup Routine May Look Like

  1. Isn’t it amazing the changes we can make and how great we feel in our skin? I made similar changes few years ago and I’m loving the way I feel. I also wash my face with just water but once every few weeks I use a natural cleanser and I try to do a mask (organic natural something). Great post and great blog.

    Ana

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

