Capsule Wardrobe: End of Month Re-Cap

Capsule Wardrobes, Minimalism, Minimalist

unnamed

I put together my summer capsule wardrobe a few weeks ago and I must say that it has really revolutionized the way I view my spending habits and closet.

I never counted up my items because I’m not a numbers girl and that wasn’t my focus when I created it. My focus was to de-clutter and get rid of clothes that I never wear and only leave my favorites.

But, I decided I wanted to count yesterday just cause I was curious.

I have 40 items in my capsule. I’ve included in mine:

  1. Daywear
  2. Pajamas
  3. Workout Gear
  4. Shoes

So, pretty much everything item-wise except undies.

What’s weird is that sometimes I still think it’s too much. I know that there are a few items in my closet I haven’t even worn once and I’m at the end of the month. Then, there are some items that I’ve repeated a good bit just cause I love them so much.

Perhaps, it’s time for the unused to be taken out of the capsule since it’s been 30 days and it hasn’t graced my body?

I considered moving it to another seasonal capsule, but would I even wear it then if I don’t wear it now? Probably not.

The key to a capsule: It can always be tweaked. There is no right or wrong way to do it. It’s yours and yours alone. You can have however many pieces you want and ‘count’ whatever items you want. It’s your thing, and no one else’s.

I am sure not to compare my capsule with others because that’s not my point at all. I just want to love my stuff and get rid of the excess, that’s all.

Although, I do love me some inspiration for others and love looking at their capsules as well! The concept is perfect and is a positive experience to help keep ourselves in check so as we aren’t so wasteful with our resources.

2 thoughts on “Capsule Wardrobe: End of Month Re-Cap

  1. Yes. Capsule wardrobe is not x number of pieces in y type of category worn for z amount of time. A capsule wardrobe is about choosing the things you love, wearing them and only them, and saying goodbye to the rest! Everyone has to make their own rules. It should serve you, not the other way around. I’ve been learning so much about my style, about my budget, and about minimalism in general since I started the whole capsule wardrobe project. So much good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

