A Random De-Cluttering Weekend

De-Cluttering, Letting Go, Minimalism

unnamed

The de-cluttering process continued this weekend at my home. I didn’t set out to do a big purge like I have been doing, because I’ve already gotten rid of so much clutter.

It seems as though there are still so many useless items that I am still hanging onto, and I can’t ignore the fact that I want it removed.

My daughter likes to climb onto my bedside table onto the bed because she thinks it’s fun (even though she’s not supposed to, of course.) Her “ready, set, go….weeeeeeee!” as she jumps onto the bed is too much excitement for her to resist.

Well, she pulled off the lamp and broke it yesterday.

That was my hint and reminder that this bedside table had only two purposes in my home:

  1. To display a lamp.
  2. My daughter to jump through the air

My thought process at this point was simple.

This table really doesn’t serve a true need, here because:

a. I have another lamp that would serve the same purpose in the same room.

b. My daughter is safer by not jumping through the air or getting in trouble for doing something she’s not supposed to do.

So, I’m donating the nightstand and the old window I was storing behind it.

unnamed (1)

along with 2 other garbage bags full of random stuff I collected along the way from cleaning house this weekend.

I can’t deny, it feels so amazing to get rid of the excess. It’s a little scary at first, but day by day my home is easier to manage and I can gain more clarity on what’s important in my life.

2 thoughts on “A Random De-Cluttering Weekend

Leave a Reply

