The Overwhelmed Life

Minimalism

Turns out I’d been running as fast as I could in the wrong direction. Oops. The stuff wasn’t doing its job: it wasn’t making me happy. In fact, the opposite was true: instead of happiness, I was faced with stress and discontent and anxiety. And massive, crippling debt. And, eventually, depression. I no longer had time for a life outside of work, often laboring 70–80 hours a week just to pay for the stuff that wasn’t making me happy. I didn’t have time for anything I wanted to do: no time to write, no time to read, no time to relax, no time for my closest relationships. I didn’t even have time to have a cup of coffee with a friend, to listen to their stories. I realized that I didn’t control my time, and thus I didn’t control my own life. It was a shocking realization.

That was from The Minimalist’s website.

This is the exact same place I was just a few months ago. My life was so overwhelming. I created a certain life where I was chasing dreams and thinking I was doing the right thing.

As it turns out, I too was running in the wrong direction to the point that my health has started suffering.

Thankfully, as the days go by I feel better. I can tell a change in my body and psyche.

It’s the un-doing of the massive life I created. The un-doing of unnecessary so my priorities can be at the forefront.

My simplifying process began just a few short months ago when I admitted to myself and to my closest relationships:

I am overwhelmed. I have made a lot of mistakes. I am in a hole that I don’t know how to dig out of. And most importantly…

I thought I was super woman, but I am not. 

Those words, that admittance, has forever changed me. It has sparked some major changes. These changes are slow and deliberate and they aren’t complete. But I am digging out. I am moving on and letting go slowly but surely.

My goal with this blog isn’t to share the ‘best’ way to live your life. It’s to share my journey, my experience and to let you know that if you find yourself in the same situation as I was; that we can change. We can alter our circumstances and be free to enjoy life. It doesn’t happen in a day, but it will happen. And to me, it’s absolutely WORTH IT.

2 thoughts on “The Overwhelmed Life

  1. Wow this is pretty powerful. It resonated with me very much. I am not wonder woman either and it is about time to let go… Thanks 🙏🌺❤️🌸

    Like

    1. It wasn’t easy for me to admit or let those world roll off my tongue – because I do have a way of trying to go ‘above and beyond’…however…the ‘beyond’ is just too much know and I must let go. We all must let go.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

