Clarity Above Clutter

Clarity, Free Spirit, Gentle Change, Minimalism, Minimalist

unnamed

The minimalist journey has been amazing so far. I have a little more free time at home, my house isn’t as crowded and messy, things are beginning to have a place; and more importantly I am taking more time for myself – to dream, to meditate, and to really hone in on what I want.

It’s not perfect, but it is better.

One of the things I am noticing now is my clarity is becoming more clear. I am more certain about myself and decision making isn’t such a drudgery. I have been running for so long on auto-pilot, and my daily to-do-list itself was so out of control that I didn’t have time to actually think. This in turn had manifested in continual sickness and impacting my health.

We all have a breaking point, and that was mine.

That is when I started running in the opposite direction and am currently still on the bail.

I have more time to think about things that I never could when I was on empty like:

  1. Waste: I’ve been recently inspired by Kelly Almost Green as she shows her progress on less waste. Although, I’m not at the point where it’s my main focus, I am more thoughtful on simple choices like paper over plastic featured in my muffin pic above. I am also using my Pyrex bowls to store food instead of Ziplocks and my family is making it a point to utilize leftovers. When I shop, I purchase veggies individually without the plastic wrap. It’s the small things that add up to the big things.
  2. Laundry: I’ve been hanging my clothes to dry skipping the dryer all together. At one time, I would have thought this was such a waste; but now I am open to change. I realize that going straight from the wash to hang saves me a lot of time and unnecessary steps.
  3. Beauty Routine: Minimizing the products I use saves time and money. I have the exact same results as before and in some cases better; such as my skin heath by doing the caveman regimine and using natural body soap.
  4. Capsule Wardrobe: Before, I felt like the more options I had, the better. That’s just not the case. By donating or selling items that I don’t like or don’t fit well, I now have an uncluttered closet with clothes I actually love. Getting ready in the morning is so much easier and I’m less likely to splurge on a shopping spree.
  5. Getting balls: I realize that I have expended way more than I’ve gotten in the last decade for fear of rejection. I’m a true people-pleaser, but there has got to be more balance. I’ve forgotten my stance along the way and I now have the clarity to begin growing my balls again.

Now that I’ve implemented the action needed to reduce the excess and unnecessary in my life I can breathe a little easier. The clarity and focus that was silenced to internal and external clutter is way more useful and important than the ‘stuff’ used to pacify my discontent. 

In moving forward, I plan on continuing giving up excuses and getting up off my ass. I won’t watch my life pass me by while I’m a bystander. I’m going to do something about it, and if you are in the same boat as me, I suggest you do the same too.

5 thoughts on “Clarity Above Clutter

  1. You’ve made amazing progress paring down! I recently cut my beauty routine down to a massive jar of coconut oil from Costco. It removes all my makeup and leaves my skin more moisturized that the crap I was paying $40 for. Will never go back! Who knew? Great post!

    Like

  2. Thanks for the shoutout! That list is great. I loved reading about the “caveman regimen” – perfect name for it – and your “getting balls” post was just what I needed to hear after my last post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

