Paying Debt & Common Sense

Debt, Financial Boss Series, Minimalism, Minimalist, Money

Wouldn’t it be perfect if we didn’t have credit card debt, could live a passionate life, and be generally awesome?

One major focus of mine is paying off debt. I’m no guru, but I have recently changed my strategies and have let go of fear. I have become my own Financial Boss and put the responsibility back where it has belong all along: to me, the Boss.

I’ve done a few things that I want to share:

  1. Admitted I am severely in debt and need to change that now.
  2. Opened my mind, let go of fear and adjusted my strategies.
  3.  Stopped useless spending.

But there is one thing that I think is most important of all when paying off debt and it’s really simple:

Use common sense.

I saved nearly $8.50 on one grocery store purchase today using that philosophy alone. Want to know how?

unnamed

By not buying mixed nuts with a black label that only used the words ‘Premium’ and ‘Deluxe’.

Excuse my sarcasm (not really), but who would buy that, I thought? Then I was mad at Publix for putting an outrageous pricetag on nuts in the slightest, tiniest, bit larger can than the one it sits next too.

Then I thought…

Well, clearly people are buying it! Why?

I just…I can’t.

We all need to be sure to keep our eyes open for ridiculous marketing strategies. It’s us against them. It’s easy to fall prey when we shop. It’s important to know our values and follow through with our dreams and not let silly obstacles get in our way of being who we want to be. It’s important.

9 thoughts on “Paying Debt & Common Sense

  1. I’m so PROUD of you!!!! This excellent post proves that once you identify the behavior, fixing it really isn’t all the hard. It’s about being aware of your spending. Yes, some days will be a bit of a challenge, but you can definitely do this! Way to go!!!!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s funny how sometimes you’ll over glance something and think one is better over the other. Especially when it comes to generic, and most of the time they are exactly the same! On a side note, I get really excited when ever I see a post of yours. They are so entertaining & just what I’m looking forward to reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Elamae! So glad to have you around to inspire me! 🙂 I do the same thing with generic – 99% of the time I can’t tell a difference and it is so not worth it to pay for a brand name on a box. So wasteful!

      Like

  3. It’s amazing what you notice when you begin to focus on something. I bet there are a lot of people just grabbing the prettier can of nuts and tossing them in their cart!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And I’ve absolutely done that a million times in the past either to impress myself or just sheer not wanting to think about the price issues. I’m really trying to be very cautious now; because it’s just not worth it to me anymore to purchase things without intention.

      Like

Leave a Reply

