Thoughts after Major Clutter Purging

De-Clutter, De-Cluttering, Minimalism, Simple Life, Simplicity

5

My couch. Oh, how I love thee.

I’m coming off of my major de-cluttering high, and finally able to sit back and enjoy the hard work and results.

Over the last few months I’ve:

  • Got rid of carloads of wall art
  • Gave away baskets – this was a toughie because I’m a recovering basket hoarder
  • Donated an embarrassing amount of unused/ill fitting clothing

Giving away unused stuff has been exhilarating. I still am getting rid of stuff – it’s just not as intense as the beginning purges, mainly because I got rid of so much.

Going through this process has really put a lot of things and behaviors in perspective. Here are some thoughts that have come about:

  • No amount of stuff will make me happy
  • Chasing things put me in debt
  • My time is more important than my stuff
  • I hate cleaning up useless clutter, like, loathe
  • I’m tired of organizing: I just want it gone if it has no purpose
  • My home is a creative place and I want all our spaces used for things we love doing and making memories
  • Clutter causes me way too much anxiety and I’m tired of being stressed
  • I can change, if I want to

Those are just a few things that I’ve been focusing on.

Now, I have some extra space to enjoy the progress. I don’t have to be SO aggressive, only mindful with the remaining stuff.

My priorities are shifting and that drives me and makes me thrive. Although, I am sad that I’ve waited so long to change: it’s still never too late to start.

I’m going into this long weekend so, so thankful. It’s mine to enjoy – and I intend to!

13 thoughts on “Thoughts after Major Clutter Purging

  1. there is nothing more freeing than letting go! :0) I just went through something like this, and I still feel I could let go of more possessions :0) It looks great! mari

    Liked by 1 person

  2. good for you….My office is in dire need of a huge face lift….I can feel it coming on, just haven’t gotten there yet…lol I too still am a basket anad little boxes hoarder…sad but I am….also bags, not purses, but bags…I have been called the bag lady before…you are giving me inspiration to get started on the office….happy load free labor day weekend….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha! My mom claims to be the bag hoarder too lol! It does feel so freeing to let go of the excess, or the things that really have no ‘place.’ Happy de-cluttering! Hope you are inspired to get the party started 🙂

      Like

  3. Congratulations !!! I still have so much clutter to go through ( or it looks like it to me ) and I just can”t wait to be in the same space you are now, empowered ! Well done ! You rock ! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Get it, girl! I’m still a work in progress as well. Sometimes, when I think I am ‘done’ I find more and more to de-clutter LOL! I guess I will be doing this forever 🙂 Good luck to you and your journey. One day at a time!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yesss !!! So relating to this ! It is invigorating and exciting to know I can keep improving my life with something so simple and beautiful ! ❤️🌺😝

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Are you still enjoying your decluttered home?? I got my office mucked out and man does it feel better….the bag for the good will is not as full as I would like it, I did go through all my books about 6 months ago and gave a lot to good will…I feel like going to the next room. but its 97 degrees here again today so I will wait…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhh yes! It’s SO much better. I still can’t believe how much stuff I’ve accumulated over the years! Just when I think I’m done, there’s more decluttering to do LOL! One day at a time 🙂

      Like

      1. I would love to put it all out side and only bring in what I want….there was a show on TV where that’s what they did….keep and sell and throw away pile…what didn’t sell went to a thrift store….felt really good to muck out my office..looks like a different room……lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. So awesome! I want to do that exact same thing. Something tells me though, that once everything was out- I wouldn’t bring ANYTHING back inside lol. Just the walls and floor and be DONE with it once and for all 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

