The Shopping Pause

Capsule Wardrobes, Debt, Minimalist Shopping, Second-Hand, Second-Hand Shopping, Simplicity, Thrift Shopping

The Shopping Pause is something that I have had to practice and learn over time in my simplifying journey. I like to think of it as smart, intentional, frugal, and fun. I have always been an impulse decision maker – and my shopping habits reflected that. It resulted in over-crowed closets, unhappiness in my wardrobe, buyers remorse, and debt.

Now, I shop for discounted items and second-hand.

This type of shopping took a while to get the hang of, but is perfect for my new lifestyle.

Today, I was on the hunt for a new pair of blue jeans. My current pair had a button that broke off and was not fixable. I wear blue jeans all the time and knew this was something that I needed back in my wardrobe.

So, I shopped online at Target and found a pair of blue jeans on clearance! Yay! It was only $10.00 so I thought, no harm done. Well, then Target required a $25 checkout for free shipping. So I spent over an hour trying to find enough things I ‘need’ to make up for the shipping cost.

My cart was upped to $28 just so I could get enough ‘stuff’ for my true mission which was originally one pair of discounted jeans.

I decided to use the Shopping Pause before checking out and getting the carted items. I let my account just sit until my lunchbreak without buying.

Then, I went up the road to a local thrift store. I told myself, that if I didn’t find a pair of jeans there, I would checkout my Target order when I got back.

On the way to the thrift shop, I realized just how pissed I am at Target anyway. I am currently trying to pay off my credit card and they charged me an interest fee of $25 just this past month. TWENTY-FIVE DOLLARS out of the $30 I paid went to interest.

Fuming about that, but also excited to hunt down a new pair of jeans at the thrift store, I searched through the rack. In all of about 5 minutes I found a new pair of Silver Jeans for $7.99.

silver

I tried them on and they fit perfectly and had zero flaws. These bad-boys are $85 brand new at Buckle.

Needless to say, I checked out very happy and even more happy that I paused before rushing my order and getting items that I truly didn’t need.

Shopping second-hand is the number one way that I am paying off debt quickly and also fulfilling my capsule wardrobe. I like my stuff smart, simple, stylish, and nice – and I intend to keep it that way!

15 thoughts on “The Shopping Pause

    1. The pause can be hard to do sometimes, but after the initial rush of : “I GOTTA HAVE IT” wears off, you can make better decisions about what you need and better control of where your $ is going!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The shopping pause is a great way of making sure that you really want/need or can’t find a better deal elsewhere. I think it applies even to things we see in store, if there is the smallest doubt of buying anything we should hold on for a determined time frame and then see if we still want the product.
    Glad it worked out so much better than it would if you’d made the order at Target. We always have to keep in mind that these are just marketing strategies and we shouldn’t fall for them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the idea of a conscious “shopping pause”. Stores and sales are set up to encourage emotional, reflexive purchasing. I think everyone should take a deep breathe and do some deep thinking before making a new purchase!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very right, Lesley! The are master minds of getting into our heads and making us believe we need something lol! I’ve feel for it waaaay too many times. Enforcing the Shopping Pause really helps keep control and make the best choices possible in determining what we need/want!

      Like

Leave a Reply

